History of the Jarrow & Gateshead East constituency

The Jarrow constituency was created in the Redistribution of Seats Act 1885.

Since 1935, only five people have served as MP for the Jarrow constituency – ‘Red’ Ellen Wilkinson (1935-1947), Ernest Fernyhough (1947-1979), Don Dixon (1979-1997), Stephen Hepburn (1997-2019), and Kate Osborne, who was elected in December 2019 and is standing for re-election in the upcoming General Election on 4th July 2024.

Following boundary changes taking effect at the 2024 general election, the constituency has been renamed Jarrow and Gateshead East. Jarrow and Gateshead East constituency consists of part of the metropolitan district of South Tyneside, with wards in Bede, Boldon Colliery, Fellgate and Hedworth, Hebburn North, Hebburn South, Monkton, Primrose, as well as four wards from the adjacent Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead, covering Pelaw and Heworth, Wardley and Leam Lane, Felling and Windy Nook & Whitehills.